Login Register

Driving rain for captains' drive-in ceremony

By Herald Express  |  Posted: January 09, 2014

AYE AYE: Dartmouth golf club new captains, from left, Stuart Harris (junior), Geoff Jewell (seniors), Ian Metchette (men's) and Sylvia Shalders (ladies)

Comments (0)

DARTMOUTH Golf and Country Club has welcomed their new captains for 2014 at a traditional drive-in last Wednesday.

The outgoing men's captain David Thompson welcomed in successor Ian Metchette, a local builder who is looking forward to the challenges that lay ahead.

Metchette will be supported by vice-captain Kevin Eighteen, while outgoing lady captain Mary Thompson welcomed in the new ladies captain Sylvia Shalders.

Silvia is no stranger to the commitment that is needed during the year as her husband Mike was men's captain two years ago.

The seniors captain will be Geoff Jewell.

The outgoing junior captain Lorna Elliott was presented with a special prize for her successful year, with Stuart Harris taking over the role.

Weather for the drive-in was anything but welcoming, with gale-force winds and driving rain making traditional tee shots from the ninth on the club course to the 18th on the championship almost impossible.

But lady captain Shalders showed them all the way and was the only one to hit the green.

Another special prize was presented, this time to one of the stalwarts of the club, Terry Wilson for his unrelenting efforts during the year.

Wilson was rewarded for his ever-present efforts with Silvia Shalders presented him with his well earned momento.

The following Saturday, players were able to get back to the Saturday circus.

Fortunately the weather held and all enjoyed playing.

Mark Lord certainly made his mark on the New Year, with an albatross on the 8th, followed by a birdie on the 9th and a two on the 18th for an impressive total of 39 points.

Meanwhile, Dean Raspin returned to good form and shared the front nine with Kevin Eighteen on 21.

The consistent Welshman Clive Westwood took the back nine with 21, but the overall win went to Dean with 40 points. There were 4 two's, Raspin on the 5th, club captain Metchette on the 5th, competition secretary Brian Mushins on the 3rd and Mark Lord on the 18th.


Read more from Torquay Herald Express

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters