Login Register

Newton Abbot MP Anne-Marie Morris joins friends and families to celebrate students' work

By Herald Express  |  Posted: November 21, 2012

  • AWARD: Fiona Maltby receives The Helen Foundation Award from Anne-Marie Morris

Comments (0)

AN AWARDS ceremony has celebrated the top work by students at Newton Abbot College.

Newton Abbot MP Anne-Marie Morris was guest speaker at the event, which was also attended by teaching staff and the families of the pupils.

Awards were presented to students from each year group who achieved the highest standards in each subject area in the past academic year.

Other awards given were Leader in Learning, Pride of Newton Abbot College, the Community Award, Helen Foundation Award, and Principal's Prize.

Entertainment was provided by the college's soul band, led by Colin Spencer, head of music.

Natasha Milner won the Leader in Learning Award for her work in the Electric Car Club.

The Community Award was won by Ryan Flory who, having survived a nasty tumble on Dartmoor earlier this year, has raised more than £2,500 for the Devon Air Ambulance who came to his rescue.

The Helen Foundation Award was given to Fiona Maltby in recognition of her art and design work, and headteacher Gareth Davies presented his Principal's Prize to Charlotte Ball.

Lesley Ring, assistant principal, said: "The student awards evening is a very special event which gives students and their families the opportunity to come together at the college to celebrate student achievement.

"This year we were particularly pleased to welcome Anne-Marie Morris MP to present the prizes and join in the celebrations."

Read more from Torquay Herald Express

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters