Login Register

South Devon duo in GB cycling World Championships squad

By This is SouthDevon  |  Posted: September 03, 2012

Jon Tiernan-Locke winning the Haut Var race in France earlier this season

Comments (0)

SOUTH Devon bike racer Jon Tiernan-Locke has been named in the Great Britain squad for the World Championships this month.

Locke, who rides for the Endura pro team and is a member of the Newton Abbot-based Mid-Devon Cycle Club, joins Dartington veteran Jeremy Hunt in the 'long list' of riders to represent GB at the UCI Road World Championships in Limburg, Netherlands, over September 15-23.

The 14 riders on the list, including current road world champion Mark Cavendish, will be trimmed down to nine for race day.

Tour de France champion Bradley Wiggins, Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas and Ben Swift are also named on the provisional roster.

Tiernan-Locke is included on the list after what has been his major breakthrough season in the professional ranks having taken a raft of international wins during 2012.

Cavendish has openly stated that the hilly road race course does not suit him, and he will ride in capacity of team helper rather than leader.

"Once again we find ourselves in a very fortunate position of having a strong pool of riders across the board from which we can select the final team nearer the time," said British Cycling performance director David Brailsford.

Lizzie Armitstead, Nicole Cooke, Sharon Laws and Emma Pooley are all present on the women's 12-strong long list, of which seven riders will take to the start line. Double Olympic track gold medallist Laura Trott is also named.

Elite Men - Road Race (9 to start)

Adam Blythe

Mark Cavendish

Steve Cummings

Alex Dowsett

Andy Fenn

Chris Froome

Peter Kennaugh

Jeremy Hunt

Luke Rowe

Ian Stannard

Ben Swift

Jon Tiernan-Locke

Geraint Thomas

Bradley Wiggins

Elite Men - Time Trial (2 to start)

Alex Dowsett

Chris Froome

Geraint Thomas

Elite Women - Road Race (7 to start)

Lizzie Armitstead

Hannah Barnes

Katie Colclough

Nicole Cooke

Catherine Hare

Nikki Harris

Dani King

Sharon Laws

Emma Pooley

Joanna Rowsell

Emma Trott

Laura Trott

Elite Women - Time Trial (2 to start)

Wendy Houvenaghel

Sharon Laws

Emma Pooley

Julia Shaw

U23 Men - Road Race (3 to start)

Mike Cuming

Josh Edmondson

Richard Handley

Ali Slater

Scott Thwaites

Simon Yates

U23 Men - Time Trial (2 to start)

George Atkins

Sam Harrison

Joe Perrett

Junior Men - Road Race (6 to start)

Germain Burton

Hugh Carthy

Jon Dibben

Tao Geoghegan Hart

Ed Laverack

Chris Lawless

Chris Latham

Sam Lowe

Harry Tanfield

Alex Peters

Will Stephenson

Oliver Wood

Junior Men - Time Trial (2 to start)

Jon Dibben

Tao Geoghegan Hart

Junior Women - Road Race (5 to start)

Elinor Barker

Lucy Garner

Emily Kay

Amy Roberts

Jessie Walker

Molly Weaver

Junior Women - Time Trial (2 to start)

Elinor Barker

Amy Roberts

Read more from Torquay Herald Express

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters