Login Register

CRICKET: Torquay's Matt Thompson given new role batting at four

By Herald Express  |  Posted: April 24, 2014

ELEVATED: Torquay batsman Matt Thompson, who moves up to four in Devon's new order

Comments (0)

DEVON have named a 12-man squad for Sunday's Minor Counties Cup opener against Wiltshire at Instow (11am).

Medium pacer Scott Barlow is named in the 12 after completing his return to Devon from Dorset.

Rhys Davies has been released by MCC Young Cricketers to play for his home county.

There is one real surprises in the squad, which is close to the one Devon used in the bulk of last season's one-day games.

Exeter's Rob Holman has been left out at the top of the order in favour of Sidmouth batsman Liam Lewis.

A reshuffled batting order sees Torquay;s Matt Thompson elevated to go in at four.

Thompson bats at four for Torquay and doubles up as wicketkeeper too.

"It worked well for Torquay last season so, hopefully, the same can happen with Devon," said Thompson.

"Devon have a strong batting line-up with anybody capable of a match-winning innings.

"The important thing – regardless of the order – is for at least one or two to come through when it matters."

Keith Donohue, Devon's director of cricket, said omitting Holman was a tough decision to make and an even tougher one to deliver.

"Telling Rob he would not be in the side was probably the worst moment of my cricket career," said Donohue, who played more than 150 times for Devon himself.

"I know Rob will be gutted and upset to be left out, but this is not the end for him in the one-day team.

"I hope he goes away and gets some runs under his belt so that when he is recalled he is in the right frame of mind."

Donohue said Holman missed out because there were other players, such as Lewis and Rhys Davies knocking on the door.

"We have more options available this year than last season and those players deserve a chance."

Devon will be looking to get past the quarter-final stage of the competition for the first time since 2008, when they went on to win it.

Devon: L J Lewis (Sidmouth), R J Woodman (Taunton), J E Burke (Budleigh), M W Thompson (Torquay), J J Bess (Sidmouth), D F Lye (Exmouth), R W Davies (Tavistock/MCC), A P W Allen (Exmouth), M C Golding (Bovey Tracey), G R Chappell, T C Anning (both Exmouth), S Barlow (Sidmouth).

Read more from Torquay Herald Express

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters